Are We Ever Going to See Combat Use of Weapon Switch?

Since I started playing, I thought a Bow character switching to melee after wiping out most monsters was going to be a thing when I learned about the secondary weapon slot. It still feels like that was the original intention and it got scrapped simply to become a gem leveling slot.

I think the swap spots are given up on and wonder if they will ever be more than gem bags. Might as well give the background weapons a default haku weapon mod so enlighten, empower and enhance have their maximum exp bonus, take away the actual weapons and just make it a spot for 6 gems to sit in and level.
"It's all clearer now
And I hear her now
And I'm nearer to
The Salvation Code"
Last edited by PleiadesBlackstar on Jul 29, 2016, 3:17:34 PM
Last bumped on Aug 1, 2016, 5:55:04 PM
This thread has been automatically archived. Replies are disabled.
Aside from a 2 hander build that doesn't have sockets in the chest and has 2 weapons that are great, when would you ever need a secondary setup for weapon swapping?
https://youtu.be/T9kygXtkh10?t=285

FeelsBadMan

Remove MF from POE, make juiced map the new MF.
Why press more buttons when you can just press one?

The design idea for the weapon swap was probably from the closed beta, when the game was still closely similar to diablo 2.

The game has evolved. Whether that design choice stays or not, is up to them.

That aside, you could always have an iron grip setup or something on swap to do ranged things (Apply chilled ground via ice shot, apply elemental equilibrium, etc etc.)
Unique Map Making~

http://www.pathofexile.com/forum/view-thread/1174961

I like music. Do you like music? Cause I sure as hell like a lot of random music.
"
goetzjam wrote:
Aside from a 2 hander build that doesn't have sockets in the chest and has 2 weapons that are great, when would you ever need a secondary setup for weapon swapping?