Tornado shot +1 chain vs +1 projectile

This is more like a question rather than a conclusion. I am quite new to the game, need help on ascendancy picking.Based on my understanding, the damage benefit (not aoe radius benefit!) from each is below. Suppose I am having 5 projectiles for 1 tornado shot, the damage benefit from

+1 chain:

Single target within the range : 0%
1-5 targets within the range: somewhere close to 100%, depends on how close between the targets.

+1 Projectile:

Single target within the range : either 0% or 20% depends on the target size.
1-5 targets: depends on the closeness between the targets and the size of the targets

The conclusion is +1 chain outperforms +1 projectile all the way until there is only 1 enemy. +1 chain boost the damage dramatically, especially when there are 2 or 3 targets stay closely. I am not sure if this is correct, so definitely appreciate any discussion regarding these 2.
Last edited by allforone999 on Jul 25, 2016, 12:41:22 PM
Last bumped on Jul 29, 2016, 10:01:53 AM
Most Tornado Shot builds will go for pierce (gem + passive tree for 100%) paired with Drillneck for the damage increase. If a projectile pierces, it cannot chain. Therefore +1-2 projectile is superior on trash and for single rares/bosses IMO.
Chain is grossly under powered and there's no reason to use the gem or the class that provides it.
IGN: Arlianth
Check out my LA build: 1782214
"
Nephalim wrote:
Chain is grossly under powered and there's no reason to use the gem or the class that provides it.

You sure about that? When there are 2 enemies in the range. +1 chain can literally double the damage for each one.
"
allforone999 wrote:
"
Nephalim wrote:

You sure about that? When there are 2 enemies in the range. +1 chain can literally double the damage for each one.

Depends on the skill being used and in what build but I can't think of many builds were a hard pierce variant would not be better.