An Interview with our Animation Department

Hey guys. Thanks for participating in the interview! Could you please introduce yourself and let us know a little bit about your animation history?
Ed: Hey, I've been animating on and off for the past 5 years. I studied animation at Natcoll (now known as Yoobee) in Wellington. I got my first job at a small studio called Polytronik, working on a short film they came up with. The project didn't see completion, but I got a bunch more small contracts from them and another studio sharing the same space. When I wasn't working I would hide away in my room and do animations for this site called the 11 Second Club. It's a monthly animation competition where you get a small clip of dialogue from a movie and make an animation to it.

Sam: Kiaora, I've been animating in the Gaming industry since 2005. My first job was with Midway Games on a variety of projects over a few years: Stranglehold (Chicago), Wheelman (Newcastle), MK vs DC and TNA Wrestling (L.A). Before Midway closed their doors in 2009, I moved over to Team Bondi (Sydney) for 2 years to work on “L.A Noire” to help out in the cinematics/layout department and a chance to work with the amazing technology of the Depth Analysis had to offer .

After leaving Team Bondi I found myself back in the states for a short stint working for WB and the incredible NetherRealm crew on “Injustice, Gods Among Us” before moving back to NZ for a more balanced work\life ratio.

Being back in New Zealand in a small market was tough. I freelanced for a year with small gigs ranging from teaching to small post houses before landing a full time gig at Gameloft. I was with Gameloft for 3 years working on a “Minion Rush” cinematic, Ice Age Adventures, Pastry Paradise and Country Friends before they closed the Auckland Studio early this year and I was very happily picked up by Grinding Gear Games in February of this year.

How did you get your job at Grinding Gear Games?