Just uninstalled the "other game" today...

I just uninstalled Diablo 3 today, and while uninstalling it, I sort of reflected on why this game did not really hit the gaming nerd in me.

I started playing D3 at the same time as most other gamers, at opening day. I remember plunking down a ton of money ($60 is about a fifth of a monthly salary here in the Phils.) just to play D3. I was excited since I played Diablo and D2 since I was in middle school. I even remember not going to class so I can play Diablo 1 the whole day with friends over LAN.

It was not a bad experience at all from normal up until hell. I was enjoying it. I even studied how DPS works in the game. I then noticed that even a magic caster depended on a weapons DPS for damage. Although an odd choice for a system, I think it worked out well enough.

After a few hundred hours of playing, I noticed that I only got 1 unique. This 1 unique was the only time I got a unique in the entirety of my playing time in D3. I also noticed that there was nothing special with this unique. I dismissed the idea of bad uniques in this game because it was 1 unique. Maybe this unique was really not good.

With the ugly drop rates, I finally decided that I may as well try the Gold AH (RMAH was not implemented yet at the time). Surprisingly, I got the pieces I wanted for my wizard for a relatively small amount of gold. I was happy with it! So I played with these new pieces of gear.

This is the point where I noticed something was odd about the item system. I tried a new character, a witch doctor. I noticed that everything was essentially the same. The stats needed, the dps, everything was similar to what I needed from a wizard (Vit being a priority over int).