Crafting Help?

I've been looking for a physical wand, and this dropped today. My own experience with crafting has pretty much been limited to alcing jewelry off the ground, but I've been following some of crafting threads here. Eternals are beyond my means, so looks like mastercrafting is the way to go. Should I aug first, or would regaling immediately be the better choice? A bad prefix bricks it either way I think, but with the latter, there's the chance I can roll a bad suffix and still mastercraft phys%/flat phys/crit for a usable wand, correct?

Again, I'm very new to crafting so any advice would be welcome. Thanks in advance!
you can have better increased physical % from a Vendor Recipe with a Rare Rustic Sash.
read more here: http://pathofexile.gamepedia.com/Vendor_recipe#Crafting

also, I prefer Prophecy and Tornado Wands as a base for Phys Wand crafting, despite the lower APS.
they make up for it with higher DPS and superior local critical chance.

a good method in my opinion would be to gather up some white Wands and Rare Rustic Sashes, Vendor them up for up to 89% phys, then Augment them and if you get something good - Regal.
the Regal can roll a trash mod, but it opens up the wand for Master Crafting which is great.

later, if you can afford that and got a really good result, you can Eternal + Exalt your mega-wand.
but that's not really necessary.
Alva: I'm sweating like a hog in heat
Shadow: That was fun
Last edited by johnKeys on May 26, 2015, 2:56:06 AM
"
johnKeys wrote:
you can have better increased physical % from a Vendor Recipe with a Rare Rustic Sash.
read more here: http://pathofexile.gamepedia.com/Vendor_recipe#Crafting

also, I prefer Prophecy and Tornado Wands as a base for Phys Wand crafting, despite the lower APS.
they make up for it with higher DPS and superior local critical chance.