I'm a noob playing the Torment/Bloodlines event. Is there any hope for me?

Despite having registered in 2012 and having played a bit through the open beta, I have very little experience/knowledge of the game. This is my first ARPG and I'm in love with the game, but I think there are key concepts I'm missing.

Since I just started playing for real, I figured I'd just jump right into the event, just in case. I'd love to get at least one of the rewards, is there any hope for me? Currently a bow/cold (mainly ice shot) Shadow level 33, 28/40 encounters done.

Any advice on how to level up fast, or what should I do? I'm assuming I'm really poor, so I probably can't buy nice gear. Currently using only stuff I've found. I have no idea about crafting anything, have been hoarding on all kinds of stones, scrolls and all those (currency?). No idea about trading. Also following some builds from the internet.

I guess I'll figure a lot of stuff in the long run, but for now it'd be nice to get some advice on the event, thanks!

P.S.: I have not been able to kill all the ghosts as they appear. Apparently they are part of the 40 encounters. Am I screwed if I failed some?
Well, if you start burning some midnight oil, 6 days would be enough to get all challenges except the level 80 one. If you had more experience with the game, that one would be fine too but I suppose you'll die a fair number of times just because you didn't know what to watch out for, and sometimes probably not even recalling the color of the truck that hit you, let alone its licence plates.

This bit about challenges might help you and I'll check for you online, might have some leftovers from my playthrough.
"
- Get to level 80
This is as simple as it gets and doesn't take a lot of effort nor a strong build, it's not even required to be able to do maps, you can just farm level 67 areas in act 3 merci until 80, but once you pass level 75 it will be significantly faster to do maps.

- Complete 40 encounters out of 46