Questions about 6-linked items

Hi everyone !
I have been playing POE for two months now, mostly in standard. I gathered some currency, traded some items with poe.trade and I am wondering about 6-linked items. I want one but they seem soooo expensive to buy :(.
I bought The Searing Touch and Carcass Jack with decent rolls and I tried to 6 link them myself for my builds. I 6 socket-ed them both fairly soon and started to link them. However as soon as I hit the 5 link (in around 100 fusings each item)I stopped since I was afraid to go broke. I figure I can sell them later if I need the currency.
My questions are:
Is this smart or should I go all in until I get the 6 link ?
Is it better to gather currency and buy the 6 link from the start?
Do you prefer master crafting 6 link for 1500 fusings?
Are these unique items worth of 6 linking in the first place :D ?
When 6 linking items how many fusings should I have ?
Should I use Blacksmith's Whetstone/Armourer's Scrap when trying to 6-link ?

Sorry for so many questions but I am wondering :D
Thank you and GL !
most people use the craft masters to link important gear to 6l or they jsut buy the 6l.

the 1500 fusing price tag has pretty much set the price in stone. but it is worth it to eliminate the horror stories ( some never link not even in 5000)
Last edited by Saltychipmunk on Feb 13, 2015, 7:06:34 AM
this will be just from my point of view:
> never use a master for linking unless its a corrupted (since its the only way)
>> 6linking with bench costs 1.5k fusing which is 1500/40 exalteds...
> 6linking can take x-xxxx fuses if u do it manually and there wont be any guaranty.
>> iam at like 500-600 avg fusing needed for 6Ls (done over 40times) thats slightly 12-15Ex invest in avg.
> Alt Arts for Sale: /view-thread/3260276

Contact support@grindinggear.com to report issues relating to the game or forum. Thanks!
Last edited by Doe on Feb 13, 2015, 7:18:59 AM