Chat spam

Before you start reading, this isn't about me or personal, it's about principles.

So, I did something I've never done before, used one of these:

Spoiler
░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄ ░░░█░░░░▄▀█▀▀▄░░▀▀▀▄░░░░▐█░░░░░░░░░▄▀█▀▀▄░░░▀█▄ ░▐▌░░░░░░░▀▄▄▀░░░░░░░░░░▐█▄▄░░░░░░░░░▀▄▄▀░░░░░▐▌ ░█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██ ░▐▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀███▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐ ░░█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▄░░░░░░░░░░▄▀░░░░░░░░░░░░█ ░░░█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I waited for the right moment, a good setting, to make it funny.
Someone said on #1 "free zana" and I replied:
"Did someone say...FREE?" followed by the spoiler.

As usual, there is always that one person miserable enough in his basement to get off on reporting anyone for anything, with a angry pineapple sideways up their you know what.

I got a several hour long mute, which itself doesn't concern me at all 'cos I know more people got a laugh out of it than the few who felt like reporting me.

The GM told me I got muted for spam.
So this got me thinking; how exactly was that spam?
The definition of chat spam should include text being repeated frequently, fast, in a flooding style.
I did neither of those. I simply used symbols and stayed in the character limit of that given to me by the chat box.

A) Did I flood? No.
One message after 6 hours of silence. And nothing after it.

B) Was my message irrelevant? No.
I replied to a player with symbols of the shape of a face.
Nobody would have reported me if I had used a smaller face like this ^__^ or =D

C) Was my message nonsense, like gibberish? No.
The characters used clearly form a face, the same way smaller character form smaller items, forms and shapes, objects or faces.

Also, one can not use "I don't understand it" as reason for being classified as nonsense, or else
everyone who uses even one foreign or too fancy a word should be muted.
Which is thank god not the case, yet.