An illness, the attainment of BiS gear.

I have been considering making a thread about this for quite some time and commenting/participating in other threads currently highlighted this issue for me again, so here i go.

When considering PoE in it's full potential one of it's highlights is the vast variations of builds and the scope of differentiation possible between them. But with experience and time comes a revelation, this highlight of which the developers are so proud appears to be available only to the people with the riches to do so.

Now why would i say such a thing?

Quite easily, i have a lot of experience with this game, both in theory-crafting/end-game/mechanics and all of the things prior to these factors (experimenting, making odd creations and the like, pushing the limits on mechanics and combining designs to explore efficiency and compare those)

As a player does this, he is easily faced with a reality check in the current-end-game, this reality is most easily described as -->

"the end-game is balanced around the most efficient min-max concepts available to the current player base within the current game-state"

It is quite clear that at a certain stage of the game (i will pose this is around lvl 80+- and upwards) that the passive tree becomes less of a factor to a character design then the items he is actually utilizing.
That is not to say it holds no relevance to the build, i am simply saying that at a certain point in character development, items become of a higher value then the passive points one gains with each increasing level.

As such and with the things i just wrote in mind, i think the hunt for BiS gear is a symptom of a more underlying illness within the game.
This illness in case it was not yet clear, is overall balance or more accurate the lack of such a balance.