Is Cruel Piety a bit of a difficulty spike?

First of all, I don't mean to whine or anything, I just wonder if other people have had the same experience I'm having.

I just started playing the game, and I'm making a Crit Cold Witch as my first character. Normal was all about grasping the mechanics and learning the game, just Normal stuff. Then I started Cruel and it's been all fun and games, I just pretty much freeze everything to death. But that was until I came down to Piety...

Seriously, I'm getting my ass handed to me Brazil vs Germany style. It might be the biggest difficulty spike I've faced in a game, from a walk in the park to being so humiliated I cried myself to sleep last night. The Lightening form is not so scary, but she seems to be aware of that, as she never goes Lightning against me. The Ice form is scary as Jack Nicholson in The Shining, but at least you have some pillars to hide from the arrows. But then there is the Fire form... Really dude, that thing runs in the speed of sound, I can't seem to outspeed it even with Quicksilver Flask (although I might just be messing up), and neither can I tank it. When she goes Fire form, I literally just give up, as I can't even reach the town portal before she goes Spanish Inquisition on my witchy ass.

And before you ask, yes, I've made the rookie mistake of going DPS instead of life in the beginning. But that doesn't really dismiss the "difficulty spike" argument.

So, have you other people also experienced it? Are there some characters that can have an easy time against her? Which?

Oh, and before I forget, can the Fire and Ice forms be frozen? I had an easy time against Vaal Oversoul, but it didn't seem like he was freezable, and neither do Piety elemental forms. Is there such a thing as unfreezabe enemies?