How do they do it?

Greetings Path of Exile community,

I just started playing this game, with the torment league. To help familiarize myself with all the mechanics I enjoy watching different streamers play the game in various difficulties. As of yet, all seems good for the exception of one thing; knowing what items are good and how to price them.

I saw a fellow stream last night and he was identifying rares and was like ''Oh nice, I can sell this for 20 Chaos Orbs'' and ''Guys, look at this necklace, I can surely get 2 Exalted Orbs from this for sure''.

I keep telling myself, ''Oh shit, I just trashed something similar to this to the vendor''.

So this is my question: Is there somewhere out there, a guide, a rulebook, a tutorial..SOMETHING, to help out new players like me who are probably passing great opportunities to make nice currency.

Thanks for the help,

Cheers,

P.S: The last game I played was D3, where the economy didn't really exist in my opinion, trading wasn't actually a thing and the economy was lacking components, playing PoE is a wake up call to a real economy which I am not familiar with.

In short: No

Also, if you think an item is "worth" the same only because its similar you are wrong, its usually not.

And also welcome to POE, the latest in economy simulator technology...oh wait...

Well, have fun playing the game, either may that be the monster slaying game or the trading game.
The only way to estimate the prices of rares is to closely follow the market, all the time. I'm playing this game for about two years and if you asked me to valuate an item, I wouldnt have a clue, cause I dont follow the economeh.

Estimating the value of uniques is much easier, just go to poe.trade, check the average price for your league and round down.
When night falls
She cloaks the world
In impenetrable darkness
Last edited by morbo on Dec 21, 2014, 10:48:00 AM
I'm afraid there is no such thing as a tutorial.