Newbie to Cruel/Merciless Questions

I'm pretty new to PoE, and have noticed a couple of things that make me wonder since getting access to Cruel and Merciless on Standard.

1. When in town, my main and secondary toon's resistance to cold/fire/lightening looks like it should, based on my equipped gear. But when I enter a zone in Cruel and Merciless, all those resistances go into minus ( - ) digits.

Is this normal, and if how do I counter it with newbie gear?

2. I just got one of my toons into Cruel, and while in the Mud Flats, Unique (orange) mobs kept appearing out of nowhere and killed me super quick, repeatedly. Both of them were Hasted to the nth degree. Gah! Already gone ALL the way through Cruel already with another toon and NEVER saw this.

Was this some random quirk in the game, or did I miss something?
1. When you're in normal area you got no resists or penalties, in cruel you get -20% res all, and in merciless the penalty is 60%. That also goes for towns, but not your hideout.

2. You probably met a rogue exile, they get large bonuses to move speed in cruel and merciless.
Wish the armchair developers would go back to developing armchairs.

◄[www.moddb.com/mods/balancedux]►
◄[www.moddb.com/mods/one-vision1]►
"
raics wrote:
1. When you're in normal area you got no resists or penalties, in cruel you get -20% res all, and in merciless the penalty is 60%. That also goes for towns, but not your hideout.

2. You probably met a rogue exile, they get large bonuses to move speed in cruel and merciless.

I just read the -20 and -60 resistance losses for Cruel and Merciless, but my question on how to counter that remains with newbie gear. The toon I have in Merciless can handle general mobs ok, but most mini boss's and act bosses kill me before I can launch an attack, likely because of my extreme lack of resistance. I've got as much I can muster with the lame gear I have, between rare restiance rings, and my general equipment.