Is sword+ shield dps build viable for end game ?

I see a lot of dagger crit builds and many very high dps builds with shadow like flicker that use a shield too but i was wondering if you could do the same as a marauder and with a sword and still be viable at end game ?

Thanks in advance :)
It is very much viable to do endgame with a sword lol.

You can even go crit and oneshot entire screens with reave like the dagger builds. Of course, dagger week give you more dps but when you oneshot everything more dps doesn't matter.
For try, for see, and for know.

This is a buff
Ty :)

Also what about defence ? i notice shadow builds built around dps go for high energy shield so they can survive well but thats harder for a marauder. If i go for mainly offence nodes wont i die too easy ?

Sry for the questions im still kinda new to this game.
For defence we get lots of block and spell block. If needed we can even get dodge and spell dodge. Also get a lot of life(5-7k).
Note that a single point of life is worth more in terms of survivability than a single point of ES. Rest assured, the tankiest builds in the game are marauders and duelists.

This is a buff
Ty for your helpful info :)

One last thing i have an issue with is life though. Atm i have just over 4k with many life nodes and at 12k dmg at lvl 77. I have no crit though so when we get a respec i will exchange some life nodes for accuracy and crit chance for way more dps but my life is only 4k now so it might go down to 3k or less :/ i can get better items i guess but i dont understand how soem builds get it all lol

I seen a guy with 11k energy sheild and over 200k dps, seems impossible to me xD
11k ES and 200k dps comes when you have infinite exalts bro. Also, I can only help you out specifically if you post your gear and tree :P.

This is a buff
The beauty of sword/shield is flexibility.
You can take nodes all over the skilltree, you can focus on damage or defense, however you choose.