Terrible Performance since a few days

Hello,

I´m running on Windows 8.1 x64 on a Intel i5 655k@4.2GHz, 8 GB RAM and a NVidia GTX 460. I play PoE since open Beta, always smooth as silk (with VSync on capped at 60 FPS). The only time when my graphics card got a bit louder was on the Dominus fights, but I never had frame rate issues.

Now I did not play for 2 weeks or so now. But yesterday when I picked up the game again I found that in the Act 3 town my Frames did go down, especially when standing a few steps right of the chest. My frames fluctuated between 30 and 60 all the time. When I walked a bit to the outer areas of the town the frames went up to 60 again.
I did not care much about it, but then I started playing in the sewers. Depending on where I walked around the same thing happened. Sometimes it was silky smooth at 60, and sometimes frames just fluctuated between 30 and 60. It makes not difference if there are a lot of mobs or not, nor can I make out that it has something to do with some fancy visual effects.

But then it got worse. I left the sewers for the market place and there it started with 25-30 fps, just to go down a few seconds later to 10 fps. And it stayed there. Many mobs, no mobs. No difference. Windowed or Full Screen: No difference. Back to the Sewers: 60 fps. Back to the Marketplace: 25-30 and soon back to 10.

I cannot make out any problems on the other games I play, so I wonder if there were changes in one of the last one or 2 updates I may have missed which could lead to these problems?

Does somebody have any Ideas? I did not try to play on the PC of my wife yet. Usually we play together and she was an integrated Intel HD4000 which works surprisingly well. But I fear we can stop playing if she gets the same problem, because then her frames would be down to 1-5 probably when I compare the performance level on my PC at the moment :-(

Any help is appreciated. Thank you very much in advance!
Last edited by pbuedi on Oct 29, 2014, 4:37:09 PM