attack speed nodes in start are useless

When would it be appropriate to the the attack speed path in the Marauder starting area? I ran numbers last night and in all cases, they are less dps than the melee physical damage nodes.
If you are a marauder, start HP. EVER !
"
pedro2907 wrote:
If you are a marauder, start HP. EVER !

Lol, I did on my main. But I created two level 5 marauders to run this test. One started out with the physical damage path, and one with the attack speed path. The attack speed path yielded lower dps results in all cases.
What if you split the paths? I just build on strength for the most part. I figure strength, life leech, attack speed, armor, plus resistance all together are a force to be reckon with. This is what I did in other dungeon crawlers. I'm pretty new to this game so not sure what the highest DPS Marauder consist of path wise.
I went with the life path, but if I were to go more DPS with my AoF molten strike, I would almost certainly take the added attack speed over melee physical because melee physical does not apply to the projectiles from molten strike.
IGN: _WaPaPow_ or KillItWithFire__ (two underscores)
Last edited by Resilient on Sep 11, 2014, 4:52:16 AM
"attack speed nodes in start are useless"

Pretty much any node in the skilltree is "useless", if it is not a notable or keystone.

But you have to travel through the tree to get the sexy stuff, and while doing so, you have to determine which basic nodes are the least useless. 4% life nodes are pretty bad, but at least it's life, and having more life is always a good choice, so most Marauders walk this path.

4% Attack speed or 10% physical damage, both are not really great.
I only used them once, on a CI Marauder who obviously isn't interested in life.
3.5 build: https://www.pathofexile.com/forum/view-thread/2299519
"
Peterlerock wrote:
"attack speed nodes in start are useless"

Pretty much any node in the skilltree is "useless", if it is not a notable or keystone.