So, masters are pointless on new chars?

So, I did a fair bit of masters grinding the past two weeks, and have almost all masters over level 6. It's took a fair bit of time and effort, so I figured I'd roll a new character in order to take a break.

So, running through act 1 normal I come across a few masters, do their quests as habit as I go along... until I realise I get NOTHING from them. ZERO master xp and ZERO favour. I mean come on. I am not expecting massive gains from low level quests. Even if its just like 50xp and 100 favour or something, ANYTHING to make it worthwhile as I level. Hell, maybe even make it a bit more than that, but then have it be penalised when done by a higher level character like the current character xp penalty for overlevelling content, to avoid abuse. Just give me a reason to do them, please.

Having the expansion content be pointless on a new character seems like awful design. What about hardcore players, who will re-roll every so often due to death? Whatever happened to risk/reward?
Last edited by Grimmhammer on Sep 2, 2014, 10:07:06 AM
Even with xp penalty that's still easily exploitable, just roll a new character and get your masters to 8 in no time.... :D
d:-D*
I suspect that they had HC players in mind. They wanted to make a challenge for them to level up their masters. It is also a balance decision because then people would just create a bunch of low level characters and spam low level quests which are easier.
"
ganimal wrote:
I suspect that they had HC players in mind. They wanted to make a challenge for them to level up their masters. It is also a balance decision because then people would just create a bunch of low level characters and spam low level quests which are easier.
If they're easier but also give much less experience it won't save you time.