Why would I ever not take Iron Reflexes as Evasion?

I'm lv. 61 in Beyond and doing a Ranger RoA build (basically standard Phys/Crit tree), I haven't played PoE since Onslaught. Back then basically everyone took IR, but I understand they've changed Evasion a bit. I get how it works, but at the end of the day if you don't take IR you're still going to get hit.

I'm running two CWDT, Enduring/Immortal/Duration with one and Decoy/20% Enfeeble on the other. Thing is, even right now, lv. 59 white mobs hit me for ~500. How am I ever going to live through a map Oak hit?

I have zero experience with Evasion builds, but from what I can see it makes no sense not to just take Iron Reflexes and have ~7200+ Armor (that's my Evasion with Grace). Looking for anyone with some HC experience to shed some light on this for me.

EDIT: Just noticed Acrobatics decreased armour by 50%, I assume this includes armour from IR. I could just drop these nodes, gain 5 skill points, and sit with 7k+ armour.
Last edited by sircuddles on Aug 30, 2014, 11:44:28 AM
Evasion can make you pretty much immune to projectile attacks (Ondar's) and combined with block and/or Acrobatics you pretty much never get hit, especially if playing ranged.

With 4-5k life, getting one-shot would require taking a huge hit which would probably kill you anyway with armor too due to how armor penetration works and the big hits are usually (at least partially) elemental damage.

Flat physical reductions (endurance charges, MoM, Lightning Coil, AA) are all available for evasion builds aswell.
For Rangers going the true Evasion-Route is a bit harder since they lack access to good block (the only option is one quiver). So they can only combine it with Acrobatics. If you are a Melee-Char however you can easily get about 50% Evasion, 60% Block and 40% Dodge which means that only every 8th hit will connect.